Paris Climate Conference - Election of new IPCC chair and working group co-chair

Statement by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development Deputy Spokesman (Paris, 07/10/2015)

France congratulates Mr Hoesung Lee on his election as chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), an election which rewards his outstanding contributions to climate change science.

We also welcome the election of Mme Valérie Masson-Delmotte, along with Mr Panmao Zhai of China, as co-chairs of the IPCC working group tasked with studying and scientifically assessing the causes and evolution of climate change.

This new leadership of IPCC bodies comes at a key moment for international climate governance, following the adoption in New York of new, universal Sustainable Development Goals and a few weeks ahead of the Paris conference, which will be chaired by Laurent Fabius./.

Dernière modification : 09/10/2017

top of the page