Treaties of Rome

Signed on 25 March 1957 by Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands, **six years after** the creation of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) **Entry into force** on 14 January 1958

The first treaty created the European Economic Community (EEC)

Aims:

"To lay the foundations of an ever-closer union among the peoples of Europe"

To expand the scope of cooperation between the six founding members of the ECSC, and to establish a customs union and a common market enabling free movement of persons, services and capital.

This treaty also created new institutions:

- European Commission
- European Council of Ministers
- European Parliamentary Assembly (later to become the European Parliament)
- European Economic and Social Committee
- Court of Justice of the European Communities (replacing the Court of Justice of the ECSC)

The second treaty created the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM)

Aim: to contribute to the development of nuclear energy in the Member States, in particular by fostering research and investment in this area.