European Union

The European Delegation in Pakistan (European Delegation in Pakistan) will give you updated information about the European Union activities in Pakistan as first donor and economic partner of the country.

There are multiple institutions in the European Union which all have a distinct role in the decision taking and implementation process.

The European Council (European Council) defines the general political direction and priorities of the European Union.

The European Commission (European Commission) is the EU’s executive body and represents the interests of Europe as a whole.

The European Parliament (European Parliament) is the legislative body of the Union and the only institution elected directly by the citizens of Europe.

For more information on the European Union, its institutions, its way of life and the rich cultural diversity it offers you can consult: ( Toute l’Europe) (All of Europe)

France is also part of other institutions related to Europe’s geographical areas, but which are separate from the European Union, one example is the Council of Europe (Council of Europe) which focuses on democracy and human rights questions and is constituted of 47 Member States.

The Treaty of Lisbon entered into force on 1 December 2009. (Treaty of Lisbon) It provides the EU with modern institutions and optimised working methods to tackle both efficiently and effectively today’s challenges in today’s world. In a rapidly changing world, Europeans look to the EU to address issues such as globalisation, climatic and demographic changes, security and energy. The Treaty of Lisbon reinforces democracy in the EU and its capacity to promote the interests of its citizens on a day-to-day basis.

Dernière modification : 21/11/2021

top of the page